Wéonde Song Redone

For a while now I have been bothered by the grammar of the Wéonde Song. Mainly it was the phrase “tó belúcan.” It is like saying, “to to enclose.” So I changed that line to “ic belúce.” The other thing that bothered me was that since I wrote it almost twenty years ago I did more study into the reconstruction of the verb *wéohian “to make sacred,” and found the way the verb was conjugated was incorrect. You can read about that at: Reconstructing a Word for “To Make Sacred.”. Wéoh in the song with the new conjugation becomes wéoha. Below is the Wéonde Song with the changes I made. The tune many use for it should not seriously change as the meter with the exception of a few lines is roughly the same.

Fyr ic bere ymb friðgearde,
Ond béode men frið fremman,
Líeg ic bere ic belúce,
Béode ælwihta fléogan aweg.
Þunor wéoha, Þunor wéoha,
Þunor wéoha þisne ealh.

Fyr ic bere ymb friðgearde,
Ond béode men frið fremman,
Líeg ic bere ic belúce,
Béode utlaga féran aweg.
Þunor wéoha, Þunor wéoha,
Þunor wéoha þisne ealh.
Þunor wéoha, Þunor wéoha,
Þunor wéoha þisne ealh.

Fire I bear around this sacred site,
And bid all men make peace,
Flame I bear I enclose,
And bid evil spirits to flee
Thor make sacred, Thor make sacred,
Thor make sacred this holy site

Fire I bear around this sacred site,
And bid all men make peace,
Flame I bear I enclose,
And bid outlaws fare away.
Thor make sacred, Thor make sacred,
Thor make sacred this holy site.
Thor make sacred, Thor make sacred,
Thor make sacred this holy site.

One thought on “Wéonde Song Redone

  1. […] make sacred this temple), is based on the Weonde Gealdor, composed by Eric and Swain Wodening and recently revised by the latter when it was discovered some elements were grammatically incorrect. Although a melody has already […]

Leave a Reply

